Tags

, , , ,

Shaolin [2011] Theatrical Poster

Shaolin. This is a film that I picked up purely because it had Jackie Chan in it. Sad, I know, but it’s the truth – I don’t even know director Benny Chan. I picked it up as part of a kung-fu, bad food night that I had planned for Kall and I. At the moment we both have a chest infection, which means that cooking for me is just not happening. I’d much rather soup from a can at this stage so get enjoying the film reviews for now – Did you check out Pineapple Express?

China is plunged into strife as feuding warlords try to expand their power by warring over neighboring lands. Fuelled by his success on the battlefield, young and arrogant Hao Jie sneers at Shaolin’s masters after killing a rival warlord on their temple grounds. But the glory comes before a fall. His own family is wiped out in an unexpected turn of events and Hao is forced to take refuge with the monks. As the civil unrest spreads and the people suffer, Hao and the Shaolin masters are forced to take a fiery stand against the evil warlords. They launch a daring plan of rescue and escape.

Shaolin Teaser Poster

Anywho, we picked this up and while I would love to be able to tell you about it, I fell asleep, curled up on Kall’s chest about 30 minutes in. Pretty much as soon as Jackie Chan was on the scene, I was asleep. Which is ironic, considering the only reason that I picked up this film in the first place is because I wanted to watch Jackie Chan…. Apparently sleep was more important…

Have you even been so exhausted that you just curled up on the closest human heat source and fell asleep? Kall’s a good heat source…. comfy too…

 

